Understanding the Qur’an using Lego

As always I’m on the lookout for new books and media that would enlighten Muslim kids and teens while encouraging them to feel a sense of happiness in being Muslim and to practice their faith with confidence. So imagine my delight when I stumbled upon this pictorial blog: Teaching Kids the Holy Quran. It’s a site dedicated to illustrating ayat (verses) of the Holy Quran using Lego.

Yes, that’s right, Lego; those plastic construction toy blocks. The blogger and designer, Mezba, uses his vast collection of lego to ‘illustrate’ scenes and incidents narrated in the Quran. He then take a photograph of these scenes with the relevant ayah (verse) added in. The detail and vivid colours of the designs are amazing. What I find interesting is the ‘Prologue’ that precede the actual verses. These act as a sort of ‘introduction.’

A pile of Lego blocks, of assorted colours and...

Image via Wikipedia

I think these illustrated ayat may be useful to parents and teachers when teaching children and even teenagers the meaning of the Qur’an. While we memorise the Quran in Arabic the majority of people attempt to grasp the meaning of the Quran in the language they know. At Teaching Kids the Holy Quran, the English translation is used. 

Thus far there are mixed selection of verses from Makki and Madani surah. Up on the site now is Surah Al Zalzala (The Earthquake) showing an excellent depiction of the chaos that comes with the arrival of the last day.

If you’re interested read more about what the site is about here or just visit http://readwithmeaning.wordpress.com/

11 thoughts on “Understanding the Qur’an using Lego

  1. Asalaamu Alaikum

    Thanks so much for this link! I love it and I’m a grownup! I’m going to show all my kids insha Allah and try to get the Islamic class to use this on a projector like one of the commentors mentioned.

    • Wa ‘alaykum assalam Aishah:

      Yes, I really think that this is a unique approach to understanding the meaning of the Qur’an. I agree it’s appealing to adults and not just teens and kids.

    • Wa ‘aalykum assalam @Muslim Learning Garden

      Yes, Lego is loved by children and adults alike. And this site has the fun of Lego with the inspiration of the Quran put together. Have fun building and learning!

  2. Assalamo alaikum,

    I have just left a comment on the blog and would also like to bring your attention to it Inshallah. I can see the brother has very good intention Mashallah but, we have to be very careful when depicting Allahs words, knowledge of background of the ayahs is extremely important.

    In the depiction of Surah Muzzammil, to show a person in the explanation of these ayas would be incorrect as the first few ayahs are actually the 2nd wahi that came to our dear Prophet Muhammad (SAW). In these ayahs Allah is speaking directly to him when saying “O you (Muhammad [pbuh]) enveloped (in garments)! Arise and warn! And
    your Lord (All? ) magnify! And your garments purify! And keep away from
    Ar- Rujz (the idols). And give not a thing in order to have more (or consider
    not your deeds of All? ’s obedience as a favour to All? ). And be patient for
    the sake of your Lord (i.e. perform your duty to All? )!” [Al-Qur’an 74:1- 7]
    Please refer to explanation of this wahi in the book Sealed Nectar page 46 – 48 onwards. http://www.2muslims.com/books/alraheeq.pdf

    We also have to be very careful when promoting a book, site or any other Islamic resource. I hope my message is not misunderstood I got vetu excited when I saw that blog too but the depiction of Suarh Muzzammil stopped me from sharing it with my kids as I wanted to check everything out first, and wouldn’t endorse it to my kids till it’s images are changed.

    May Allah guide us all and forgive me if I am mistaken

    • Assalamo alaikum,
      The brother has replied to my comment and I agree that his opinion is also correct. I am more comfortable now getting to know his opinion and the care he is taking in the depictions. May Alla keep us all on the right path Ameen

  3. Thank you for the mention. I have added your post to my “mentions” page, and just wanted to let you know your post drives a lot of people to my page – jazaks!

    • Asslamu ‘alaykum Mezba:

      You’re welcome! I really am impressed with the creative work you do. MashaAllah. I think your photos and translations would be just as interesting if it were published as a book. 🙂 Shukran for adding the link to your page. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

