Thinking of those for whom reading and writing is not a reality…

Do you know what it is to not be able to read and write? Many of you may answer in the negative. But stop and think about it for a minute.

What would you miss most if you were unable to read and write?

We take for granted our ability to read and write yet there are millions of people (adults and children) around the world who are unable to read and write.

“Across the globe nearly 171 million children could be lifted out of poverty if they left school with basic reading and writing skills. Quality literacy education is the difference between life and death, prosperity and despair. This is literacy for survival.” (source)

To make the world aware of this, World Read Aloud Day (March 9, 2011) was started by LitWorld. It is a pledge to read 774 million minutes in support of the 774 million people around the world who cannot read or write.

 

Between now and March 9 celebrate the power of words by:

  1. Reading aloud to those children around you; at home, in the classroom, at weekend school or the community centre (create more excitement by logging the minutes spent reading – see Reading Tally sheet). Or host a read-a-thon.
  2. Making a donation to a charity, especially one that support education
  3. Using social media to promote awareness, get others to read-aloud and to think about what it means to be able to read and write 
  4. Adding the World Read Aloud Day button to your website or blog and put up a flyer (see here)
  5. Sharing your thoughts and feelings with your family and friends about what it means to be literate, ask students to write about it in class etc. (More ideas for activities can be found here.)

So, what would you miss most if you could not read or write?

Looking forward to reading your thoughts and feelings in the comments below!

 

3 thoughts on “Thinking of those for whom reading and writing is not a reality…

  1. I think for me, it would mean I would have to find something else to focus my whole day around! A grey wasteland that would seem because reading and writing enrich my life so much.

    • Hi @BookChook:
      Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this.

      The more I think about this question the more I realise how much I take my ability to read and write for granted. If I couldn’t read I’d be missing out on information about the past, present and possible future in books, online in magazines ec. And I’d be bored. Yes, I’d be missing out on the best way to entertain myself – reading a book! As to writing, I wouldn’t be here today doing what I am doing now if I couldn’t write (and read too).

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Thinking of those for whom reading and writing is not a reality… « UmmahReads: Guide to Books and Media for Muslim Children & Teens -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

