Muslim teenagers need to see themselves in stories they read

When I was growing up I read books a wide range of books; from fairy tales to adventure and mystery to even a bit of romance. In none of these works of fiction did I ever encounter Muslim children and teens like myself who were living Islam in society. Those who were facing challenges and struggling to resolve issues of living in a non-Muslim majority society. As a teen I would’ve loved to see others like myself in the books I read.   

photo source: Heavenly Photography (Flickr - Creative Commons)

 

In a recent interview, author, Na’ima A. Robert, clearly outlines why Muslim youth of today need Islamic fiction books that mirrors the situation in which they find themselves.  In talking about why she wrote her two Young Adult (YA) novels she states:   

“I wanted to address some of the issues faced by our youth and suggest an alternative way of dealing with them, a way that is nourished by imaan. The truth is, almost every YA title out there addresses issues that teens face to varying degrees. However, Muslim teens face the usual ‘growing pains’ issues as well as other issues that arise from their religious and cultural identities. It is these issues that I tried to address.”   

If you are a parent, teacher, leader or anyone who works with those who are the future of the Muslim ummah you will want to read this interview. Go on over and read the interview here.   

Just a reminder! Na’ima B. Robert will be here on JULY 23 rd as guest blogger. I am sure that, as in the interview above, she will share some insightful information with us.

3 thoughts on “Muslim teenagers need to see themselves in stories they read

  1. You are right, Saara, I am a parent and teacher, and insh’Allah aspiring writer, and I LOVED the interview! That was one of the best interviews I ever read. Jazaki Allahu khair for sharing…how do you do it, sister? You seem to be “in the know” about everything I want to know about. Mash’Allah, tabarakAllah. Can’t wait til July 23rd to “meet” Sr. Na’ima. What a wonderful personality, and her letter to readers was truly inspirational, mash’Allah.

  2. What time does the blog tour begin? I have a question for Sr. Na’ima and am not sure if our time zones will match! Thus, I am posting it here:

    What advice can you give aspiring authors who are specifically looking to publish Muslim interest stories with (non-Muslim) mainstream publishers? How did you break through the glass ceiling?

    Jazakum Allahu khair~

    • Salaams @wbabdullah:

      Sorry about the delay in posting. I’m sure I’ll be able to have something up by the end of the day, inshaAllah.

      Shukran for your question. I am sure many aspiring authors will benefit from its answer.

Leave a Reply

