Some Recent Finds

Over the past week or so I have come across some delightful finds by way of books, storytelling and more that I thought I would share with you.

First, I came upon Smart Ark, a relatively new company that publishes books and learning materials. What is I really like about the products is that they are produced from recycled materials. Not only is this is a first for a Muslim publisher, as far as I know, it surely shows that Muslims are being mindful of our responsibility to the environment. As soon as I receive some samples form the company I will be writing about them.

Second, I was privileged to listen to the most moving narratives on audio I have ever heard. Mehded Maryam Sinclair tells of the lives of the Prophets Muhammad and Yusuf, the happenings in the world in the Year of the Elephant (based on Surah Fil in the Qur’an) and other stories (listen to samples of audio here). She has also written two books based on the stories she has told, one of which I have reviewed and will post very soon.

Third, I found Greenbird Books, a publisher who takes a whole new approach to stories for young Muslims. Their books are a delight to read. The illustrations are clear and vibrant which I am sure are making them very appealing to young children. I have samples of two of their books to review.

I am so happy I found these great books, stories and I can’t wait to share them with you!

3 thoughts on “Some Recent Finds

    • Salaams sister Aishah:

      I have been in contact with Smart Ark through the email address listed on their website and I didn’t have any problems at all. Maybe you can use the contact form on the site instead.

Leave a Reply

