Remembering books

stacks of books sorted by colour

photo by Patrick Gage

 

Recently a younger cousin of mine, who I hadn’t been in touch with for a long time, wrote to me. She had been sorting through some of her books when she came upon one I had given her.       

Anah wrote to me saying:         

“Having good children’s books is such an important thing; all the books I remember fondly are the ones that I read as a child, books just have so much more impact on a child.”         

It is more than ten years since I gave my cousin that book! Anah kept it and now it had brought us in touch.    

My cousin is now a young woman about to start masters degree at university. What she wrote to me is great evidence as to why we must surround our children with books from young.

Leave a Reply

